ILS/Atlas Launch Complex C-36B - KSC Video Feeds


[New]Atlas IIIA Launch Replay (G2 320x240 20/80Kb) [New]
Commercial ILS Atlas IIIA (AC-201) with EUTELSAT W4

Automatically reloads every 90 seconds, or click on reload for newest images





Launched 5/24/00 at 7:11 p.m. EDT. The window opened at 5:38 p.m. and closed at 7:58 p.m. EDT (21:39 to 23:58 UTC) The launch held at the T-5 minute mark due to a boat in the launch area and a transducer that went out of limits.

. A launch was not attempted on Sunday, 5/21/00 due to a problem with a gasket on the launch pad's liquid oxygen topping check valve. The faulty gasket delayed de-tanking operations from Saturday's launch attempt.

  • Florida Today AC-201 Coverage
  • Space.Com AC-201 5/17/00 Coverage
  • Space.Com AC-201 Coverage
  • Spaceflight Now AC-201 Coverage
  • SpaceNews.Com Coverage
  • The launch attempt on Saturday, 5/20/00 began with a minor problem with the LOx dump valve which required a slight delay to the expected T-0. Then the launch time was adjusted due to boats in the area remaining from a celebrity fishing tournament. At 7:51p.m. EDT a clear to launch was given by the range and the count came out of the T-minus 5 minute mark. T-0 launch time was to be at 7:57 p.m. EDT but a flight control message was received at T-minus 2 minutes 15 seconds that was not anticipated and the launch was scrubbed because there was not enough time remaining in the window to troubleshoot the situation.

    Launch attempt on 5/17/2000 window 21:37-23:57 UTC (5:37 p.m. - 7:57 p.m. EDT). A problem with the LOx main transfer vent valve delayed fueling and a problem with a sensor in the propellant tank has held the clock at the T-minus 5 minute mark. The problem was resolved but a COLA from 23:28-23:32 UTC moved the estimated launch time to 7:36 p.m. EDT / 23:36 UTC. The clock picked up and counted ddown to the T-Minus 20 second mark where there was a cutoff due to a redline of the RCU master inhibitor bus. The clock was recycled to the T-minus 5 minute mark with a new T-0 at 7:56 p.m. EDT / 23:56 UTC. The launch was scrubbed at 7:50 p.m. EDT.

    Launch attempt of the Lockheed Martin Atlas IIIA vehicle AC-201 from Cape Canaveral Air Station Launch Pad 36B on 5/16/2000 at 21:37-23:57 UTC was scrubbed due to strong high altitude winds. Launch has been rescheduled for the same time on 5/17/2000.

    The launch attempt on 5/15/2000 at 21:37-23:57 UTC was scrubbed due to equipment problems at the Bermuda downrange tracking station. Launch rescheduled for the same time window on 5/16/2000.

    ILS Atlas Vehicle
    ILS ATLAS-III/EUTELSAT News Release


  • Cape Canaveral Air Station Launch Information
  • Shuttle Countdown Home Page
  • KSC Science Home page


    Last Revised: May 2, 1999 19:37 pm EDT (J. Dumoulin)
    A service of NASA/Kennedy Space Center ELV Program Office, Bobby Bruckner, Director