[NASA Logo] [JASON Logo] [TIMED Logo]

Jason / Timed - VAFB Video Feeds

[New] Countdown Clock / Launch Status [New]
NASA TV | ELV TV1 | ELV TV2 | VAFB TV

Jason Processing Video | Timed Processing Video
Delta II Jason/TIMED Launch Video | Delta II Jason/TIMED Launch Replays Video

Boeing Delta-II with Jason / Timed launched 7:07 a.m. PST
(10:07 EST / 15:07 UTC) December 7, 2001 from VAFB


Jason/Timed Launch Image Jason/Timed Launch Image
Jason/Timed Launch Image Jason/Timed Launch Image

Views of Jason / Timed Boeing Delta-II launch from Vandenburg Air Force Base (VAFB).

Jason-1 is a joint U.S./French oceanography mission. The spacecraft builds on the heritage of the Topex/Poseidon satellite and will be used to observe global climate interaction between the sea and the atmosphere. Jason 1 will monitor world ocean circulation, study interactions of the oceans and atmosphere, improve climate predictions and observe events like El Nino. The project is managed by the Jet Propulsion Laboratory for NASA and the French space agency.

NASA's TIMED spacecraft will conduct the first global study of a critical region of Earth's atmosphere, known as the mesosphere, lower thermosphere and ionosphere. The two-year mission will study the influences of the sun as well as humans on this least explored and understood region located between 40 - 110 miles (60 - 180 kilometers) above the Earth's surface. Data provided by TIMED will improve our understanding of this "gateway region" and its effects on satellites, communications, and spacecraft re-entering the Earth's atmosphere. TIMED is a NASA satellite managed by the Goddard Space Flight Center.




Last Revised:Thursday December 6, 2001 16:54:00 EST (J. Dumoulin)
A service of NASA/Kennedy Space Center Expendable Vehicle Directorate, Steve Francois, Director