Pegasus/OSC Launch - Video from Kwajalein

Pegasus with HETE-2 launched 10/09/2000 from Kwajalein at 1:38 a.m. EDT (5:38 UTC)

[New]HETE-2/Pegasus Launch Replay (G2 320x240 471kb) [New]
[New]HETE-2/Pegasus Processing (G2 320x240 929Kb) [New]



Launched Monday, 10/9/00 1:38 a.m. EDT (5:38 GMT) (17:45 Local)

At 12:38 a.m. EDT the launch team was polled and a final clear was given for the L-1011 aircraft to takeoff. At 12:48 a.m. the L-1011 Stargazer aircraft with the Pegasus/HETE-2 vehicle left the runway at Kwajalein. At 1:25 a.m. the Pegasus was switched to internal power. Pegasus was deployed at 1:38:18 a.m. EDT.(5:38 GMT). Successful Stage 2 separation at a MET 516 min. Stage 3 ignition successful. Payload separation successful and on time at 1:50 a.m. EDT. Estimated orbit 590km x 650km with an inclination of 1.95 degrees.

NASA's High Energy Transient Explorer (HETE-2) was originally scheduled for 1:45 a.m. EDT. (5:45 GMT) on 10/07/00 from the Stargazer L-1011 aircraft departing from the Kwajalein Missile Range. However, the launch board Orbital's Pegasus rocket from the central Pacific Ocean missile range was postponed 48 hours due to communications difficulties between the ground station at Kwajalein and the mainland. Additional time was also necessary to repair a broken cable associated with ground support equipment.

Launch was rescheduled for Monday, 10/9/2000 at 1:45 a.m. EDT (5:45 GMT) and will be carried live on the Internet. PAO Commentary began at 12:30 a.m. EDT. George Diller - KSC Public Affairs Office


  • MIT HETE-2 Mission Page
  • Orbital Sciences Corporaton Homepage
  • Pegasus Launch Vehicle Homepage
  • Weather at Kwajalein
  • * Live Video Requires RealPlayer, available free of charge from: Progressive Networks.


  • HETE-2 Mission Page | HETE-2 Program Page
  • HETE-2 Overview (Powerpoint 6Mb)
  • Previous Pegasus Launch - Terriers
  • ELV Homepage | Integrated Launch Forecast
  • Shuttle Countdown Home Page | Other KSC Live Video Feeds
  • Science and Engineering Homepage | KSC Science Home page

  • Provided By: Spaceport Engineering and Technology Telescience Lab
    Last Revised: Oct 09, 2000 3:20 am EDT (J. Dumoulin)
    A service of NASA/Kennedy Space Center ELV Program Office, Bobby Bruckner, Director