NASA Logo

TITAN II / Coriolis Mission from VAFB / SLC-4W

Launched Monday January 6, 2003 at 9:18 am EST (14:18 GMT)
Launch attempt on Sunday, January 5, 2003 was scrubbed due to high level winds
Launch Replays: RealMedia Format (Archive)
Windows Media Format Windows Media AVI Format




Stills from launch at VAFB

Launch Replays: RealMedia Format (Archive)
Windows Media Format

Launched Monday, January 6, 2003 at 6:18 am PST (14:18 GMT)
. Launch attempts on Sunday 1/5/03 and 12/15/02-12/17/02 were scrubbed at T-9 minutes due to Weather.

Coriolis is a test mission for the flight of two Defense Department payloads: 1) Windsat, a Navy polarimetric microwave radiometer experiment to passively measure ocean surface wind vector; and 2) a U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory Solar Mass Ejection Imager (SMEI) to monitor solar activity with the goal of more accurately predicting geomagnetic disturbances to orbiting satellites. The spacecraft's two payloads will collect data continuously during its three year mission. The satellite will be launched into a Sun-synchronous Orbit at 830 Km, 98.7 deg, 6pm LTAN for a three-year Mission.


Coriolis Website | Coriolis PDF Fact Sheet | SPAWAR Homepage
Previous Launches | Range Schedule | Other KSC Live Video Feeds
KSC Home page | KSC Science Home page

Note: The RealPlayer plugin is available free of charge from: Real Media.
Last Revised: Sunday, January 5, 2003 9:36:52 EST (J. Dumoulin)
A service of NASA/Kennedy Space Center ELV and Payload Carriers Office, Steve Francois, Director